NTxPCC is a Non-Profit 501(c)(3). Donations are tax deductible.

Coalition Awards

The Justin Sucato Award was created to recognize prostate cancer survivors dedicated to assisting or educating fellow survivors. Justin Sucato was NTxPCC’s first Vice-President who was instrumental in initializing our educational programs. Justin lost his fight with cancer in 2010.

2011 Justin Sucato Award winner Mike Butler, pictured with

Mr./Mrs. Anthony Sucato, Mrs. Ilde Sucato and Sheri Butler

2012 Justin Sucato Award winner Jaren Smith
Dr. Dan Sucato, Mrs. Ilde Sucato, Wolfram Blattner

2013 Award:  Mrs. Ilde (Justin) Sucato and Jay Holmes

Justin Sucato Award 2013.

Often overlooked is the value of hospital visits to survivors after surgery. I did a few visits myself and I remember one case where a survivor was in tears when I came in, not because of me but because he realized that somebody outside his family cared.


This year’s Justin Sucato award goes to a survivor who decided to give something back after his own surgery. He has visited fellow survivors for more than 12 years. The candidate gives a great deal of his time to volunteer work in general. He now volunteers with Habitat for Humanity and has made numerous trips to New Orleans to help that community rebuild. He sees himself on equal footing with the rest of humanity and feeling blessed to be alive. He still visits prostate cancer patients twice a month. He is always extremely kind to the prostate cancer patients he visits and tells them, and those may be his own words, that losing their prostate “doesn’t have to cramp their style.” He reminds the patients that their live is full of meaning and joy post prostatectomy. He also invites the men to the support group at Baylor.


The 2013 Justin Sucato Award goes to Jay Holmes.


Monty Knapp, 2014 Justin Sucato Award Winner, pictured with Tom Dillon

Dan during the 2013 Hawgs of Texas Fundraiser in South Texas.

Dan Groves is the 2020 Justin Sucato Award Winner.
Dan was instrumental in making the NTxPCC Survivor Chat “Let’s Talk on Tuesday … About Prostate Cancer”. a full success. This earned him the Texas Health “Helping Hands Award” in 2012.
Dan was and still is supporting our Health Fair and Special Events programs.
In addition, Dan, a former banking professional, was the NTxPCC treasurer for the last seven years.
NTxPCC Outstanding Service Awards
  2017 Bruce Stahl – Long-term Treasurer of NTxPCC
  2018 Angie Clark – Facilitator of Us TOO Presbyterian Hospital Dallas Support Group
  2018  Gayle Wilkins – Facilitator of Fort Worth Prostate Cancer Support Group
  2019 Gregg Wallace – Long-time Secretary of NTxPCC
(Monty Knapp, Dan Groves, Mike Butler and Wolfram Blattner
 (from left) receiving the Helping Hands Award from Texas Health CEO Doug Hawthorne. October 2012.